Olagato House

January 3, 2008

2007 Bowman Heritage blaster break: box 1

Filed under: baseball cards — Tags: , — morineko @ 8:28 pm

Yes, I’m finally doing these posts. I bought six blasters, detected a whole bunch of fun patterns, and made it a good way into completing a set. I’ve never completed a set.

Here goes my first box, which was opened at work. (This is important, as my coworkers did indeed make comments on my pulls.)

Pack 1:
126 Travis Hafner
162 Tadahito Iguchi
238 Glen Perkins (rainbow)
BHP6 Zach McAllister
BHP70 Vasili Spanos
211 Tony Abreu
92 Bill Hall
16 Kelly Johnson

Not much to complain about. Pulled a Brewer, and that’s always good.

Pack 2:
18 Zach Duke
134 Troy Glaus
186 Scott Kazmir (no signature parallel)
220 Jeff Baker (rainbow)
BHP50 Luke Hochevar
BHP44 Chris Coghlan
checklist 3 of 3
210 Joe Smith
104 Nick Swisher

Pack 3:
49 Adrian Gonzalez
114 Zack Greinke
PG-PK Pieces of Greatness Paul Konerko
BHP24 Leo Daigle
BHP84 Jarrett Hoffpauir
249 Delmon Young
128 Willy Taveras
180 Alex Rios

Indeed, the snarky comment was from someone at work who hadn’t any idea about relic cards. “They’re chopping up bats and putting them on cards?” O_o
Me: “Yes, but who the heck is Paul Konerko?”
I have long since learnt who Paul Konerko is, as that also made the people around me a bit goggle-eyed. 2008 resolution: pay attention to AL Central.

Pack 4:
137 Austin Kearns
101 Andruw Jones
202 Tim Lincecum (rainbow)
BHP18 Cody Strait
BHP16 Jonathan van Every
237 Kevin Kouzmanoff
4 Todd Helton
52 J.J. Hardy

Yay, another Brewer, and also a rookie pitcher I had heard of. Part of the reason I started buying cards was to learn more about the game I hadn’t been paying much attention to over the past decade. The more cards I get, the more familiar the players become.

Pack 5:
97 Brian Giles
53 Bobby Abreu
3 of 5 Mickey Mantle
239 Danny Putnam (rainbow)
BHP100 Fernando Martinez
BHP8 Anthony Hatch
48 Freddy Garcia
108 Rafael Furcal

Brian Giles, Bowman Heritage 2007 set
The expression on his face really amuses me.

Pack 6:
69 Brian McCann
212 Billy Butler (rainbow)
BHP28 Bryan Byrne
BHP48 Woods Fines
checklist 2 of 3
244 Adam Lind
233 Akinori Iwamura
76 Stephen Drew
172 Aubrey Huff

Adam Lind, Bowman Heritage 2007 set
Adam Lind may have a chance at an outfield spot in Toronto this year, but a friend and I think he looks more like someone who’s gone temporarily missing from his emo band. Panic! at the Rogers Centre?

Pack 7:
85 Carlos Zambrano
141 Carlos Quentin
217 Carlos Gomez (rainbow)
BHP20 Young Il Jung
BHP22 Carlos Corporan
245 Travis Buck
184 Tom Gorzelanny
28 Bobby Crosby

Pack 8:
13 Chien-Ming Wang
193 Chase Utley
2 of 5 Mickey Mantle
241 Brian Sweeney (rainbow)
BHP64 Jeff Baisley
BHP72 Thomas Hottovy
229 Kei Igawa
200 Barry Bonds

I’m not really getting behind the Mantle insert concept here but I’ll freely admit I’m probably the only one who isn’t.

1 Comment »

  1. I have never opened a box at work, that might be fun one day.

    Comment by Joey — January 3, 2008 @ 10:49 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

