Olagato House

January 14, 2008

2007 Bowman Heritage blaster break: box 6

Filed under: baseball cards — morineko @ 11:16 am

This is the final box opening of this set. Thanks for reading a list of cards with the nonsense I post about them for the past week or so.

1)
13 Chien-Ming Wang
193 Chase Utley
PG-TN Pieces of Greatness Trot Nixon
BHP86 Matt Miller
BHP30 Gorkys Hernandez
204 Sean Henn
128 Willy Taveras
180 Alex Rios

I don’t associate Trot Nixon with greatness as much as I associate him with a tradition of Red Sox outfielders with somewhat silly nicknames. Dewey, Trot, and Coco…one of these things is not like the other thing.

2)
169 Cole Hamels
57 Cliff Lee
245 Travis Buck (no sig)
235 Alex Gordon (rainbow)
BHP78 Brandon Hynick
BHP74 Matt Young
247 Brandon Morrow
52 J.J. Hardy

3)
109 Curt Schilling
89 Conor Jackson
SG-SP Signs of Greatness Steven Pearce
211 Tony Abreu (rainbow)
BHP58 Jeremy Jeffress
BHP60 Joba Chamberlain
108 Rafael Furcal
4 Todd Helton

Curt Schilling, Bowman Heritage 2007 set
I was opening this box in front of my mother. She has joined the legions of my coworkers who keep asking me if I’ve pulled any Schilling cards yet. I swear I was about to start calling him Joe Shlabotnik (I’ve now reserved that for Craig Counsell, because he’s more of a Shlabotnik player type and I can’t pull his cards either.) So, I showed her the contents of the pack. Mom’s comments: “He looks fat and old.”
Me: “Because he is?”
Ah, the problems with early-season pictures. He looks much better now. Or I’m just still happy about the World Series and it’s making my vision fuzzy.

4)
65 Dontrelle Willis
227 John Danks (no sig)
213 Gustavo Molina (rainbow)
BHP40 J.R. Towles
BHP68 Ryan Finan
checklist 3 of 3
246 Miguel Montero
203 Kory Casto
48 Freddy Garcia

5)
45 Grady Sizemore
149 Freddy Sanchez
251 Joba Chamberlain
240 Philip Hughes (rainbow)
BHP90 Gabriel Sanchez
BHP76 Chris Salamida
76 Stephen Drew
172 Aubrey Huff

I don’t have anything coherent to say about all these Joba Chamberlain cards, so here’s a picture of Phil Hughes with a Yankee cap on his head:
Philip Hughes, Bowman Heritage 2007 set
Even a pancake couldn’t improve it (but a bunny might.)

6)
181 Ichiro
205 Hector Gimenez (rainbow)
BHP98 Sam Fuld
BHP26 Mark Wagner
236 Micah Owings
213 Gustavo Molina
184 Tom Gorzelanny
28 Bobby Crosby

7)
157 Jason Varitek
37 J.D. Drew
231 Jesus Flores (no sig)
229 Kei Igawa (rainbow)
BHP6 Zach McAllister
BHP70 Vasili Spanos
232 Dallas Braden
200 Barry Bonds

8)
1 Jeff Francoeur
29 Javier Vazquez
246 Miguel Montero (rainbow)
BHP50 Luke Hochevar
BHP44 Chris Coghlan
checklist 2 of 3
214 Brian Stokes
32 Mike Sweeney
196 Nick Markakis

2 Comments »

  1. We are all about Trot Nixon down in NC. Let’s work out a trade :)

    Comment by chemgod — February 7, 2008 @ 11:49 am

  2. If you’re keeping track of this, I’ll email you after I get back from Boston on the 19th–I’m definitely interested in a trade (especially as you appear to be more interested in Trot Nixon than I am) but I’ve got no time to package anything in the next day or two. I haven’t forgotten.

    Comment by morineko — February 10, 2008 @ 8:00 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

