Olagato House

February 24, 2008

my nontriumphant return to blogging

Filed under: admin, postcards, scrapbooking — morineko @ 11:39 pm

As it turns out, the knee I “screwed up” in Boston was actually a dislocated kneecap. It’s not as severe as the dislocation I had in fall of 2006 where the entire kneecap went to the right and had to be manually adjusted, but it was bad enough that it was rubbing against the side of my knee when I walked. Yes, I was an idiot and walked two miles with a dislocated kneecap, not to mention the giant haul I had to make from the gate to the baggage claim here in Minneapolis. I don’t recommend flying in coach with a dislocated kneecap, either, unless you’re under 157cm. I am 157cm exactly. In any case, I really didn’t feel like recapping my trip to Boston or finally posting that UD box break because that would have involved more sitting at a computer and scanning things. My scanner is attached to the computer in my craft room. My craft room is in the basement. My knee should feel better by this weekend.

Speaking of UD and boxes, I bought a blaster at Wal-Mart this afternoon and one of the packs only had five cards in it, and that must have been the pack where the “one game-used card per box!” was supposed to be in. Do you think I’ll have better luck with calling Upper Deck to complain or emailing them about it? I still have the box and the wrappers from all the opened packs. (That’s another break I’ll post once the scanner is accessible.)

The administrative part of the post (other than delaying the posting of more card minutiae) is that I’ve added a fair amount of sites to the blogroll. If it’s on my roll, I’ve been reading it through RSS and Google Reader since I found out about the site but have been too lazy to add it to the blogroll until now. Welcome, you all, and thanks for the nice comments from some of you.

Trading activities may be assumed soon as well. That’s also related to the lack of scanner. I’m also out of penny sleeves, toploaders, and the small envelopes I use to send books. This is also causing delays in my BookMooch sendouts. (The books I read on the plane weren’t good enough to keep in my permanent collection; the great thing about BookMooch is that it allows me to give them to people who really want to read them and that I can get something else neat from someone else with a book credit. The only drawback is shipping, and I’m out of envelopes again.)

My trip to Boston as expressed in paper: I was there for Boskone, which unlike every other sf or anime convention I’ve attended did not have any artists or dealers selling postcards. Of course, my congoing activities up until now have all been in Iowa, Minnesota and Wisconsin. I was sorely disappointed. For one thing, sf fans like cats, and Postcrossers love requesting postcards of cats. I have a severe lack of cat postcards to send out as I sent all of the batch I bought at last year’s local cons out already. I didn’t buy any generic tourist postcards (seen at both the hotel giftshop and the CVS on Newbury Street where I bought instant icepacks.) I did get postcards at the Museum of Fine Arts, mostly the ones featuring the special exhibition of early 20th century British printmaking (no photos allowed, so I bought the postcards) and the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum (no photos allowed, period, so I’m using the postcards for my scrapbook.) I also picked up two packs of postcards at the big souvenir place outside Fenway Park. I bought one ten-pack of assorted Fenway views and one ten-pack of assorted players. They also had a ten-pack of Daisuke Matsuzaka postcards only, but I’m not that into Dice-K (shhh, if not for Schilling being broken he’d only be the 3rd starter) but apparently lots and lots of other people are if the souvenir stock is any indication. I didn’t get to any of the historical-type sites at all, unless you count Fenway Park. That’s two ballpark tours off my list this year; I did a Metrodome tour during Twins Fest. I’m going to Coors Field for a game in August during Denvention 3 but I’m unsure if I’m going to do the tour; after all, I am going to see a game ;)

I do have to mention the MFA’s sumo exhibit which had some great sumo postcards that you can see on that virtual tour. Part of that exhibit that isn’t in the virtual tour included some interesting trading cards and memorabilia. During the postwar period, there were playing cards issued that doubled as sumo trading cards. There were also some straightforward sumo trading cards from the 1990s on display with the familiar pictures and stats on the back sort of trading card layout. In the 1970s and 1980s, mass reproductions of wrestler handprints on paper were a popular form of sumo memorabilia. There were a few of those on display as well; those guys also have really big hands.

2 Comments »

  1. Call Upper Deck and just let them know. They should ask for your name and address and will send you out a nice relic card for your trouble.

    Comment by chemgod — February 28, 2008 @ 9:32 pm

  2. […] of Upper Deck, I finally heard back from them about the shorted blaster pack that I sent in wrappers and UPC codes over a month ago. I’ll scan the letter when I get home […]

    Pingback by gripes for today « Olagato House — April 16, 2008 @ 4:38 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

