Olagato House

November 20, 2008

my collecting story

Filed under: collecting meta — morineko @ 7:12 pm

This is my post for the blog carnival Bat Around over at Sports Card Uncensored.

what type of collector am I?
I don’t really classify myself as a type of collector. I like stuff printed on paper. This blog is about all sorts of stuff printed on flat sheets of paper. However, I like those things to be interesting to look at. Sometimes, I like them to be shiny (this explains all the Heidi Grace paper I’ve been storing up…ooh, organic forms with glitter.) Sometimes, I like them to be cute. But when it comes to cards, I need to either have good photography or good design, and preferably both.

boring prattle on how I started collecting
Like a lot of kids, I got interested in baseball and soon after started collecting cards. My mother bought me my first pack in 1987. I kept on collecting cards and watching baseball for the next seven years. I do need to note that a large part of my interest in cards was social. We traded cards at recess. I traded cards with penpals. (This explains why I have hockey cards from 1990.) Once I hit junior high, the social aspect decreased, so I bought less cards.

I lost interest in baseball after the 1994 strike, but looking back on my card-buying habits–I apparently bought a couple of packs of various whatever in ’94–my baseball card collection was replaced by an entirely different collection. You may have heard of this little game called Magic: the Gathering. This game absolutely occupied the group of kids I associated with in high school, and I played it until my second and final year of college. I picked up Magic again when I returned to community college and started hanging around with the group of various geek and otaku girls who gathered in the commons in the morning. I was even worse at Magic in 2005 than I was in 1995. I’ve kept all my cards but the game confuses all my current friends, except for the people who quit Magic and won’t go back. (Some of them replaced it with poker. Cardboard crack indeed….)

I have some Pokemon and Sailor Moon CCG cards around. My cousin’s Pokemon collection was absolutely epic, but she didn’t want to actually play the game with those. I had a starter set and we played with that. I–as a previous trade indicates–was also collecting the 2000 Cardcaptors set. It’s probably not worth putting my wantlist up for that. I see that unopened wax boxes are occasionally available on eBay, anyway.

I started watching baseball in earnest again in 2007. I picked up a rack pack of 2007 Topps soon after. I didn’t think I’d actually start collecting again. I was in fact going to use any cards that weren’t Brewers or Red Sox as material for paper craft projects. This didn’t happen. I discovered card blogs before I could get around to it. What, people are writing about cards? And trading them online? Maybe I should get into that…and here I am.

why do I collect this stuff?
Why do I collect the sets I collect? Design, mostly. If I don’t like the design there isn’t any point in having an entire set of totally fugly cards.

Why do I collect the players I collect? Because they’re my favorites to watch play, and because I don’t have hundreds or thousands of cards to look for especially if I’m not chasing parallels, because I’m not. It’s great when there are less than 100, or 50, or 20, to look for. :)

how can I be persuaded to buy more cards?
If there’s anything the manufacturers could do, it would be (as everyone and their dog posted) to bring back the sorts of sets that had everyone who made a major league roster in the previous year. I’d actually buy more cards instead of waiting for someone else to pull it and not want it so I can send off unwanted cards to them that they want to get it. If I’m only buying cards to use as trade bait, something’s wrong.

Also, bad design is right out. Stupid photomanips (“Photoshop,” airbrushing, etc.) are right out. Stop reminding me of scary stuff I’ve seen in media fandom. Fools with soon-parted money buy those, too, and I’ve never been able to figure out why.

1 Comment »

  1. Great, now you’ve got me looking on eBay and thinking I might want to collect those Cardcaptors cards. :-)

    They certainly look more tempting than most of the newish baseball sets out now.

    Comment by Paul — November 20, 2008 @ 9:45 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

